Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

RIRR

on November 13, 2013

Back on 11/2, I made the decision to suck it up and finally join a running group – the Rhode Island Road Runners. If you’ve been reading my blog for long (you know, the whole 3 months I’ve been writing it) then you know about my social anxiety. To make the decision to join a group (on purpose) is a huge leap for me. I signed up through their website Paypal link and then didn’t hear anything for a few days. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to have done anything else, but I also asked to join their Facebook group at the same time (which is a closed group).

Last Tuesday I got several emails from the President of the running club, welcoming me to their group and giving me lots of information. He included the members of the board as well, and then sent some current and previous newsletters for me to check out. I was also admitted to the Facebook group the same day.

I had seen on their website that they have monthly meetings on the second Tuesday of every month. I decided that would be a great way to get to know some of the members in a smaller, non-competitive setting, so I let the President know that I’d be joining them for the meeting on the 12th (yesterday). He thought it would be great and asked me “not to judge them by their boring meetings”. I understood why once I got there, but didn’t judge them for it.

It was basically more of an administrative meeting for the first hour to hour and a half. I just listened and took it all in and chit chatted with people in between discussions they were having as notes were taken. I got to know about 10-12 people while I was there (some more than others if they were sitting next to me or stayed longer). After the administrative business, everyone just relaxed and talked and had some beers. It was nice and low key at a Sons of Italy bar so there really weren’t many other people in the bar itself.

All in all, I think I made a good choice on clubs to join. I also joined another Facebook group the same day I signed up for RIRR called the Pavement Pounders, but their Facebook page doesn’t seem very active. I still put up a “hi” post when I joined and was accepted to the group and one person responded so that was nice. I didn’t pay to join that group, and as far as I can tell they ONLY have the Facebook group page, so I won’t be concerned if that one doesn’t pan out.

Look at me, being a big girl!  😀

 

 

 


9 responses to “RIRR

  1. Jules says:

    Awesome job and love the pic;)

  2. DragonLady says:

    Awesome! One of my friends practically dragged me into a local running group with her, and then she moved to the other side of the continent. lol

  3. I am not a member of any running clubs, but I really am thinking about joining this summer when I am done with training and can run for fun more. You’ll have to keep us updated on how it goes.

  4. Desiree says:

    I’m intrigued by the thought of a running group but so so so apprehensive. I also have a little social anxiety thing going on especially with people I don’t know. Cant wait to follow you on this and see how you like it!

  5. You go girl! As the president and founder of the Cruisers, it blows my mind that people would be too intimidated to join us, but I hear it all the time. We’re just a group of fun loving friends with a running problem! We don’t charge anything either. Too bad you don’t live in the area! 🙂

    • beach3519 says:

      I think it’s more so my own social anxiety vs. a group of people actually being intimidating. Although, I obviously assume they’re all awesome runners! LOL

      I’ve thought it was too bad I don’t live near you too when I read about the Cruisers!

Leave a comment