Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #17

on January 17, 2014

Fitness this week:

Saturday – Shoulder/Leg – all 3 sets of 12-15 plus 30 min Yoga
Machine Shoulder Press – 15 lb, Barbell Incline Shoulder Raise – 20 lb, Dumbbell Shoulder Shrug – 25 lb, Barbell Squat – 65 lb, Barbell Standing Calf Raise – 65 lb, Farmer’s Walk (50 steps) – 40 lb, Abductor – 150 lb, Adductor – 150 lb, Plank – 3 x 45 seconds

Sunday – Resolution 5K race & PT stretches

Monday – Chest/Tricep – all 3 sets of 12-15
Dumbbell bench press – 15lb, Machine Fly – 65 lb, Dumbbell decline bench press – 15lb, Push-ups – 8, 7, 5 (no knees), Cable rope pushdown – 25 lb, “The Monster” – 20 lb, Machine assisted dip – 100 lb

Tuesday – Unscheduled rest day – not feeling well

Wednesday – Back/Bicep – all 3 sets of 12-15 plus 15 min Yoga
Machine assisted pull-up – 140 lb, “Good Mornings” – 30 lb, Cable seated row – 45 lb, Flexed Bicep Curl – 20 lb, Dumbbell Incline Bench Curl – 17.5 lb, Cable Standing One Arm Bicep Curl – 10 lb

Thursday – 35 min run/walk, 1 hr Obstacle Class @ Unleashed

Friday – rest

 

Or a blog in this case…

 

I call that a decent week! Kept up with my walk/run plan and it has moved up to 2 min run/2 min walk and I believe it will change again on Saturday. My plan for that day is to combine Saturday and Sunday’s workouts so that I can get in some #megsmiles on Saturday since that’s not a current normal running day on my schedule right now. I’ll then take Sunday as an extra rest day and just enjoy watching my Patriots play and maybe get some stuff done around the house.

Last night I had my third obstacle class at Unleashed and it was a doozy! I worked up a huge sweat and loved every minute of it. I love that each time I’ve done the class it’s a little different. The first time I think we had 11 obstacles, then last Thursday was 12 and last night was 13! And our warm-up was just running laps around the gym this time – no burpees! Yay!!

 

 

I think I did pretty well last night, at least with the wall. This time, I got high enough to see over it, but still can’t quite get my leg up over the top. I don’t have enough confidence or strength for that yet. At least it felt good to notice that progress as before I was just staring at the wood. I also climbed a bit higher on the rope ladder and cargo net, but until my grip strengthens some more I’m not comfortable going higher without a pad beneath me (and neither of those things has one under it).

As good as that felt, my left shoulder is definitely NOT feeling well today. It stiffened up a bit last night before bed, but I took some ibuprofen and figured rest might help but it feels worse this morning. I tried reaching higher to climb instead of closer to my body and I think I tweaked something by doing that, especially since it’s my left   shoulder that hurts which is my weaker side.

Last night, this is how the obstacles went (from where I started in the rotation): Rope wall climb (this is a 12 ft wall), the monkey rope (as I call it), Muscle up on Rings (go to around 6:30 in video), Kettlebell hoist, Cargo net climb, Rope ladder climb, Pull-ups (or in my case, hang from the bar for like 5 seconds at a time), Sandbag carry over plyoboxes, Sled push, Weight bag drag and pull, Sled pull and then my nemesis, the 6 ft wall. There is also an 8 ft wall that is part of that rotation with the 6 ft wall that if you get over one, you do the next, but please…I’m still working on the 6 ft wall.

Before we get to my musical selection for this week, here’s a quick registered race update for my #14in2014:

Race 1 done – Resolution 5K
Race 2 – Old Fashioned 5K – 2/16
Race 3 – St. Pat’s 5K – 3/8
Race 4 – Cox Rhode Races – 5/3
Race 5 – Goal race #1 – Tough Mudder – 5/31
Race 6 – Goal race #2 – Surftown Half Marathon – 9/14

This week I’m sharing a song that gets me pumped up whenever I hear it…even if I’m not working out.

Radioactive – Imagine Dragons

 


16 responses to “Face The Music Friday #17

  1. playfulpups says:

    Looks like a great workout week!

    Ill be running some #megsmiles on Saturday too-

  2. Yowza, some serious kicking ass!

    And that someecard totally cracked me up. HATE burpees!

  3. I’m just so impressed with all of you that have your races planned out so well! I have like 2 picked out then the rest seem to just jump out at me randomly, ha!

  4. DragonLady says:

    Burpees just suck.

    Love that song!

  5. I freaking love love love Imagine Dragons.

  6. Yankee Girl says:

    …breathing in the chemicals [huge gasp… ah]
    I sing along so hard when this song is on the radio. 🙂

    super sweet that you’re digging the obstacles class! Sounds intense, and fun.

    • beach3519 says:

      Haha, I totally do that too!! It’s very difficult, but the hour FLIES by so fast because it’s so fun. If I were doing an hour of yoga I’d keep looking at the clock to see how much time I had left!

  7. Fantastic week! Glad you are still loving the Unleashed! And great song, btw!

  8. TartanJogger says:

    Wow, that is some week- well done! You have some great races booked!

    • beach3519 says:

      Thank you! Yeah, 2 of them are dupes from last year so I’m hoping to get a PR on each course considering how new of a runner I was when I did them last year.

  9. Great workout week!! You are killin it!!)
    May 3rd -cox is still a bit up for debate for me..My bday is May 1st, and I have always wanted to run a marathon for my bday wknd.. I was planning on running a more local race, but it’s only a half marathon ..I kinda feel like the excitement of a bday marathon will get me a PR!!!:)

Leave a comment