Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Weekend Shenanigans Part 2

on September 4, 2013

(You can catch up on Part 1 here)

Sunday morning we got up so I could go on my 5 mile run. Zach had the great idea to drop me off at Oak Ledge Park and I would finish just before the dog park that they like to bring their boys to play. It was the most gorgeous run I’ve ever had. It started out right by the edge of Lake Champlain, meandered through some parts of downtown and through a lot of wooded areas. It was a gorgeous day out, but the humidity was a killer!

IMG_0878

IMG_0877

Once I finished my run and stretching, we all packed back into the car to go home and get ready to head to the Champlain Valley Fair.

IMG_0885

IMG_0880

We had such a great time checking out all the farm animals and shows that were going on. We even got to feed some mini horses!

IMG_0897

IMG_0896

IMG_0898

IMG_0899

image_3

IMG_0908

After busting my butt kayaking on Saturday and with my longest run to date Sunday morning, I felt I deserved some fair food. I had some cheese fries, shared a cider clush (amazing!) and a root beer float, a shaved ice and my first ever fried twinkie (which was heaven on a stick).

IMG_0884

IMG_0901

IMG_0934

We had such a great time, even though our faces were melting off. I think one of the highlights was watching pigs race and swim. They were adorable!

IMG_0919

image_2

photo

IMG_0889

After a few hours, we called it a day and headed home to relax. We decided to chill at home that night and we ate dinner while watching Sherlock Holmes on Netflix. I could barely keep my eyes open to watch it, but thought it was a pretty good movie.

More shenanigans to come…


5 responses to “Weekend Shenanigans Part 2

  1. Jules says:

    I especially like the piggies and of course the sunglasses!

  2. So glad you had a great run, The fair only comes once a year so I always believe a splurge is allowed – my go to – the elephant ear!

    • beach3519 says:

      Oh yeah! Fried dough is always a big favorite, but I was branching out and trying stuff I don’t usually see at our local fairs. We’ve even made fried dough at home (and almost blew up our kitchen!).

  3. Jess says:

    I love Burlington! What a beautiful part of the world! This made me think of my trip there, nice memories! 🙂

Leave a comment