Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Sunday Runday

on March 17, 2014

After my 2 hours of hell at Unleashed on Saturday (full post to come on that soon), I wasn’t sure I would live, never mind get my long(ish) run in on Sunday. I didn’t get out of bed until almost 11 am on Sunday and even then didn’t really want to get up.

Tara surprised me with a lovely little depression-era cake for breakfast with a little heart of powdered sugar that she served to me in the bath that she ran me. Yes, I’m a little spoiled. OK, a LOT spoiled.

 

 

 

I started to feel a little more human after that. Tara had asked me if I would put her through what I go through working out, to which I replied that we have no obstacles, but she really meant more of a general workout, like we use to warm-up at obstacle class. Since I didn’t want to kill my wife, I decided to just give her a general warm-up, then have her do the Nerd Fitness beginner bodyweight routine that I’ve used in the past and then some light stretching to cool down. She did well, but I don’t think she’ll ever ask me to do that to her again!

After that, we sat for a bit catching up on a couple of shows on the DVR and checking email. I told her if I felt well enough, I wanted to go out for my run. We ended up getting ready and headed out the door around 2pm. My training schedule called for 1 hour so I set my Garmin for 4/2 intervals and ended up finishing 4.5 miles in that time. I only just found out that my Garmin could do that earlier in the week by reading someone else’s blog post – very exciting stuff!

 

 

Tara walked the track (with a few runs thrown in!) almost the entire time I did and it was nice to have company. I also experimented with Shot Bloks that I had bought on sale on our trip to REI a few weeks ago. I think they helped, considering I hadn’t had lunch before we left. I’d jaunt off the track to the bleachers during a walk break, grab some water and one of those puppies and off I went.

 

 

I think I did OK, but my body is paying for it even more today. I didn’t treat it very well this weekend and my hip is killing me. My chiro advised me tonight she thinks I need to take a break. She said they’re basically “managing my pain” instead of getting my body to the level of the workouts I’m doing. It was very disheartening to hear and I really have to think about it. I think I’ll not put in my two short runs this week and rest until my long(ish) run on Sunday again and I’ll make sure I do my stretches EVERY day, not just every other, even if I’m tired. My body just needs to really catch up with my heart.

Keep your eyes peeled for the Unleashed review that’s coming. You’ll definitely want to see this mofo in action!

 

 

 

 

 

 


11 responses to “Sunday Runday

  1. bitsyandbug says:

    Body needs to catch up with your heart

    :’/

    That’s a good line.

    Also, thank you for not killing your wife. That is appreciated.

    😉

  2. Carla says:

    your poor hips.
    MINE KNOW HOW THEY FEEL.

    xo

  3. Aww good job Tara! Ouch sorry about the pain. Ugh I know that’s the last thing you wanted to hear. But…. maybe in lieu of running, try the elliptical to get that cardio in since its easier on the joints? Or, maybe take up swimming? I’m toying with going to do that more regularly too.

    • Courtney says:

      I used to love the elliptical, but find that it still bothers my hip so that’s not very helpful. And I don’t have access to a pool (plus I don’t like swimming that much). Walking doesn’t bother me (most of the time) so I might just be limited to that here and there.

  4. So sorry to hear about your hip pain. Hope you can get it figured out and healed quickly. Can’t wait for your Unleashed review!

  5. OMG I want that cake! For breakfast… I’ll be dreaming about that for a week! Good on you for getting the workout in… however, it seems that your body is struggling right now. I’m the first to admit that I’m definitely part of the camp of runners who have been ignoring doctors since forever, but I don’t ignore what my body tells me. Running in pain is not fun… 😦 Sometimes, I find that it only takes a little scaling back of the miles to let your body readjust and recover. I know it’s soooo hard – I really, really do! – but I force myself to take things easy for a little while too when I’m struggling. It helps me to think carefully about why I run: because I love it, and because it’s good for me. Running in pain is neither fun, nor good for me… Best of luck!

    • Courtney says:

      LOL, it was quite a nice start to the day. I know exactly what you mean. I think it’s just going to be a play it by ear kind of thing. I didn’t run my scheduled run today and most likely won’t on Thursday either. We’ll see what the weekend brings.

  6. Oh hip pain is no good 😦 Can you scale back a bit and give your body a chance to heal a bit. I know it’s so hard to do that, but it always pays off in the end.

Leave a comment