Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #25

on March 14, 2014

Before I get into my fitness for the week, I wanted to describe the “game plan” I just started this week for my strength. I’m doing 4 sets of each exercise – 3 sets at max weight allowing me to get 8 reps, plus lowering the weight by 25% and doing the last set to failure. That is my goal for next week. This week was all about figuring out what weight works for me to be able to do that, so basically I did all 4 sets for 8 reps. Now on to the show…

Fitness this week:

Monday – Chest/back
Barbell Bench Press – 75 lb, Dumbbell Straight Arm Pullover – 15 lb, Push-ups – 4×10, Cable Mid Chest Crossovers – 10 lb, Cable Deadlift – 50 lb, Assisted pull-up – 135 lb, Cable Incline Bench Row – 35 lb, Close Grip Front Lat Pulldown – 30 lb

Tuesday – Run/walk 40 min

Wednesday – Shoulders/legs
Cable Front Raise – 10 lb, Cable 1 Arm Lateral Raise – 5 lb, Cable Reverse Fly – 5 lb, Dumbbell Shoulder Shrug – 25 lb (pair), Barbell Squat – 85 lb, Barbell Standing Calf Raises – 85 lb,  Leg Press – 90 lb, Farmer’s Walk – 25 lb (used pair of bumper plates in a pinch grip)

Thursday – Run/walk 40 min

Friday – Arms
Dumbbell Bicep Curl – 15 lb (pair), Cable Overhead Curl – 7.5 lb, Cable Reverse Curl – 15 lb, Barbell Behind The Back Wrist Curl – 20 lb, Assisted Dips – 85 lb, Cable High Pulley Overhead Tricep Extension – 25 lb, Cable Kneeling Tricep Extension – 10 lb, Cable Tricep Kickback – 5 lb

I think the week went well overall. Definitely some new soreness from new movements, but nothing that doesn’t go away in a couple of days so that’s good. I’m more concerned about my hip and knee pain that is flaring up again, but trying to be proactive with it. I have too many races and too much training to get done before them to have this crap start up again.

 

Only semi-true…

 

Tomorrow is “big fun” day at Unleashed. Or my other name for it – “I’m gonna die in front of a million strangers” day. No, but seriously, I am excited to meet other NE Spahtens. I’m just concerned because I know that 1 hour of training there is tough. I can’t imagine what Kevin can throw in to a 3 hour session! That’s why I didn’t go on Thursday night this week.

Not much else going on so we’ll jump straight to the song for this week. I’m posting two videos of it. The first video is how I heard the song for the first time, which I then promptly downloaded. The second is the actual recorded version of it that I have on iTunes (even though the video is stupid).

Take Me Out – Atomic Tom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


10 responses to “Face The Music Friday #25

  1. 3 HOURS! OMG wow. You may not be able to move next week! Excellent job starting the weight stuff. Are you doing free weights or machines? I have a little printout at the YMCA that they tell me what to do. Honestly, free weights scare me. Maybe it’s the people in the free weights section that scares me too LOL

    Excellent job this week. Make sure you get your icepacks prepped and ready to go after your Unleashed marathon!

    • Courtney says:

      I pretty much think I won’t move all weekend after the class! LOL

      Depending on what exercise I’m doing, I will either use free weights, the Smith Machine (barbell rack) or the cable pulley machines. I very rarely use the regular machines because I feel like my form suffers. Free weights aren’t scary once you work with them a bit.

      The people can be scary, I agree, but just plug in your headphones and focus on you and they go away. 🙂

  2. Accck, a 3 hr workout?

    I’ve been half-assing it on the strength training lately, doing the bare minimum, so your 4 set plan is inspiring! Or frightening. Both I guess. I don’t split my weights into different body parts on different days, just slog through a little of everything a couple days a week, but that might be an interesting way to shift–more training overall, but broken up into more days so that each day feels doable. Must ponder…

    • Courtney says:

      I agree both – definitely a little scary but motivating. I would definitely recommend breaking it up. I love the way he makes my plans for me.

  3. 3 hours?!?! Awesome! You’re inspiring me with your bad-a@@ strength training! Good luck on your Unleashed event.

  4. Your workouts are always impressive!!!! I am reminded of just how much I am a slacker. But really, you’re a rock star! Have a great weekend!

  5. Alli says:

    Nice workout!! That is intense – props to you!

Leave a comment