Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #72

on May 1, 2015

 

Saturday – 6 mile run + 1.6 mile hike
Sunday – Rest
Monday – 30 min yoga
Tuesday – 3 miles
Wednesday – Rhode Runner 5K
Thursday – 1 hour kickboxing
Friday – Probably yoga

 

I had a GREAT week of workouts. I’m pretty psyched about that. Like I mentioned in this post, last Friday I had a new PR on the weighted sled push. That night, my friend Amy and I planned to run the next morning. I usually run on Sunday mornings, but I like having the company so we arranged to run early before the plans that both of us had on Saturday. It was a beautiful day for a run!

Afterwards, Tara’s parents came over to celebrate her dad’s birthday. We went for a short hike and then I grilled us up some burgers for lunch. We had a nice visit.

 

 

Sunday I barely moved because I was so sore from Friday and Saturday. It was definitely a well deserved rest day. Monday, I still wasn’t feeling it, so I just did some yoga to work things out and loosen up. Now let’s talk about those Tuesday and Wednesday runs!

Tuesday was just a regular 3-miler, nothing fancy. I didn’t know when I set out, but I felt pretty strong and ended up running faster than I thought and set a new 3 mile PR. Wednesday I met up with some teammates to run the free 5K put on monthly during the warmer months by Rhode Runner in Providence. It was a beautiful night for it. I came straight from work and just enough time to find a parking spot, run to the tent to get my bib, meet up with my friends and ended up stretching once we lined up to start! Not how I like to start a race.

The race isn’t on a closed course, but essentially doesn’t meet up with much traffic. It is just an out and back along a (mostly) gravel path in the middle of two one way streets. We had to cross a few streets, but not busy ones and it was never an issue as the cars basically had no choice but to yield to the throngs of runners coming at them. I knew I started out WAY too fast and couldn’t get my breathing under control. I tried to slow it up, but it’s been a while since I’ve actually raced and running with other people always makes me go faster.

So what happened? I set a new 5K PR!! My old one has stood for a very, very long time. My new time, 33:14, will be my new standard to go by as I continue to improve. I couldn’t ask for better people to celebrate it with, either.

 

 

My hip was a little tweaky on Thursday from back to back running (not to mention faster than normal) so I was a little hesitant to go to kickboxing last night. I decided if the kicking bothered me too much, I’d punch more and just see how it went. My hip actually cooperated for most of it and I didn’t have any issues, except with my shoulder. I couldn’t hold high planks or do burpee punches, so the trainer modified for me. He absolutely smoked us in that class. There were 5 of us and we’d all done the class plenty of times, so he decided since he didn’t have any newbies he’d challenge us. It was awesome!

After kickboxing last night, I met my friend Katie and some of her friends to see the new Avengers movie. I didn’t get to bed until a few hours ago, but it was totally worth the lack of sleep. I would definitely recommend it if you’re into those movies.

Tonight, I’ll probably take it easy and do some more yoga. I’ve got a busy weekend ahead. I’ll be helping out at the Unleashed table at the BoldrDash on the Beach OCR tomorrow and then Sunday I’m tagging along to cheer my friends on that are running the 7 Sister Trail Race. It’s gonna be busy, but fun.

I’m obsessed with this week’s song. Much like I became obsessed with Take Me To Church last year when it was first released, every time this Hozier song comes on I crank it up. I don’t know what it is about that man. Enjoy and have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 responses to “Face The Music Friday #72

  1. Great week indeed! Congrats on that PR again! And I love that Hozier song too! Yep, Age of Ultron was phenomenal! I can’t wait to see it again!

  2. Congrats on your new 5K PR! Also – love the song! Good pick.

  3. Congrats on the PRs! Woohoo! My sister-in-law visited in February and was all about Hozier – I didn’t even realize he was Irish until she told me. I’m very much out of the cool music loop.

  4. Congrats on the PR!! Nice week of workouts, too! Ohh, I jealous that you saw the the Avengers already, I am hoping to go this weekend. I’m looking forward to an awesome movie and some popcorn. πŸ™‚ Have fun this weekend!!

  5. Lily Lau says:

    Congratulations! Your new time is amazing, girl πŸ˜€

  6. Wow. Amazing week. You are really pushing yourself and I love how much progress you are seeing. WOOHOO new PR!!!!

  7. dgobs says:

    Woohoo!!! Congrats on the shiny new PR! πŸ˜€ It’s such an amazing feeling when that happens!

Leave a Reply

