Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #53

on September 26, 2014

Saturday – Rest/anniversary party

Sunday – Rest/birthday party

Monday – 30 min yoga

Tuesday – 30 min elliptical w/ ruck

Wednesday – 30 min yoga

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Rest/errands

 

You will notice a lot of rest this week and I’m not a big fan. I want to run. I want to run now. Boo hoo, waaaah.

OK, pity party over, let’s talk about the week.

We had a great time on Saturday at my aunt and uncle’s surprise 30th anniversary dinner that my cousin put together. She did a really great job getting it all set up, inviting lots of people (most of whom I didn’t know) and keeping it all a secret. It was up in MA, where they live, near where I grew up at a restaurant called The Fours. It’s a sports themed place with awesome food. I had my steak and cheese egg rolls I’ve craved since the first time we ever went there with them over a year ago. They’re that good. They also had a cake made with a picture drawn on it of them at their wedding. It came out really good! Every time we have a gathering, the cake is always from Veronica’s Sweetcakes because my cousin’s best friend’s family owns the bakery. They’re amazing!!

Sunday was the birthday party for the twin boys that Tara nannies. It was held at a place called Teamworks. They have indoor soccer, bouncy houses, arcade games, etc so it was a madhouse. It was also VERY muggy on Sunday so we were sweating just standing around inside for 5 minutes. We hung out for just over an hour but I couldn’t stand on my foot anymore so we took off and came home to watch a VERY scary Patriots game that I had DVR’d while we were gone.

So. The foot. Let’s talk about it, shall we? It was feeling better throughout the week last week. By the weekend, I could almost walk without a limp. I decided if I was taking it easy, now would be the perfect time to start back up doing yoga, so I threw that in a couple of days this week. My foot felt pretty good by Tuesday, so I said I’d try a more weight bearing activity like the elliptical (so not completely pounding on it) and if I was going to do that I might as well throw my ruck on for training. I think I’ve been paying for that decision ever since. My foot started hurting more again – not enough to limp, but enough to bother me all day. Back to the drawing board I guess.

In other news, I have a HUGE challenge coming in November that I will share more about in it’s own post soon. For now, I have the RI Run For The Fallen in the morning (which I will be rucking and Tara walking with me) and then I will head home, shower, try to maybe take a nap and then meet my team for the New England Fitness Challenge Saturday night into Sunday. I’m not competing but will be the team manager and just cheer them on and do what I can throughout the night to keep them moving.

This week I don’t have a particular reason for picking this song, but I just really like it. Tara had me making her some playlists last weekend and I came across it again in the process. It’s great on a run. Have a great weekend everybody!

 

A Silent Film – Harbour Lights

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 responses to “Face The Music Friday #53

  1. haleyduke17 says:

    Sorry to hear about your foot. Give it some time. Hope you recover quick.

  2. Sorry the foot issues still. It may just be something that will take a bit of time. Sucks though, either way.

  3. cwupcake says:

    When will bones and tendons and such just learn that they should take the abuse we give them? It’s their job. Sigh. Sending healing vibes your way.

  4. dgobs says:

    Oh no! Sorry about your foot… I hope it works itself out soon!

    I love the Fours and their steak and cheese eggrolls! I used to go to the one in Quincy all the time when I lived there 🙂

    • Courtney says:

      You and me both lady.

      Those things are to die for!! I think the dipping sauce just sends them over the edge. The first time we ever went, was to the one in Quincy. The second time was to the one in Boston before a concert (where the fryer was broken and we couldn’t get them!!!) and the third was Saturday night in Norwell. It’s funny the only 3 times we’ve gone were all to different locations!

  5. Kristin says:

    Great job on your workouts!!! Hope your foot starts feeling better soon!! I’m thinking about ya!! XOXO!! Have the best weekend!!

  6. Rest is good! You will come back even stronger!

  7. d20girl says:

    I hope your foot is doing better! Mine got worse at first, but seems much better now. I did use Rock Tape on it today before my six mile run and iced it afterwards several times. Seems to be ok for now. I hope yours is too!!

  8. piratebobcat says:

    Dang, sorry about your foot. I hope you get it sorted out. The surprise party sounds fun though! Good luck on your weekend challenges! Cool song, thanks for sharing.

    • Courtney says:

      Thanks! The party was definitely a lot of fun and I can’t wait for you guys to read about the challenge. I just put up one recap, the other one will be a couple of days.

  9. That bites about your foot! Hopefully today went well! Have a great rest of the weekend. Now I kind of want cake. 🙂

  10. I know it sucks, but it is smart to take it easy on your foot and let it heal.

Leave a Reply

