Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

I Wear My Sunglasses At Night

on September 23, 2014

 

You’re welcome for getting that song stuck in your head.

I recently made a purchase on Amazon as an extra safety measure for running when it’s dark, which is quickly approaching. I thought it might be a good idea to share what I use when I am running for safety, whether it’s dark or not.

Road ID app / Road ID bracelet

I ordered a Road ID bracelet a long time ago because it just made sense. I have a bee sting allergy and by wearing this bracelet, I’m able to let people know. It also has emergency contact information on it. They are completely customizable and very affordable. They also offer things you can put on your shoes and ankles, as well as other items.

 

This is the band I have – from the Road ID website

 

When I purchased the bracelet, they had also just come out with the Road ID app. At first, it was a little wonky at times, but now they seem to have worked out their kinks. What it does is provide a lock screen that you can also put your emergency info on, so a stranger can look at this without having to know the code to your phone. You also can send an “e-crumb” to up to 3 people (text or email) to let them know you’re running (or cycling, etc). This “crumb” allows them to follow your progress in real time so they know where you are at all times. There is also an alert feature that if you stop moving for 5 minutes, it triggers an alarm on your phone. Unless you turn this alarm off within 60 seconds, it will then notify whoever is following your crumb that you are no longer moving.

 

 

Reflective clothing / vest

I have several very neon shirts and even some calf sleeves with reflective strips on them. I’m also looking to get a reflective vest to wear over my not so reflective shirts. I would love some recommendations on your favorite, if you use one. The only one I’ve found and tried on so far seemed bulky (made by Fuel Belt I think).

Headlamp or other lights

I scored a great deal on a Petzl Tikkina 2 headlamp at REI at one of their garage sales earlier this year for less than $10. It’s a great head lamp and I can’t wait to actually use it. It’s very comfortable and has two different brightness settings. It doesn’t feel super heavy on my head either.

 

 

Cell phone

I’m sure most people probably do this, but I know some people who like to run “naked” and don’t carry anything with them. I like to have it in case of emergency, but also because it runs my apps, so I always have it with me.

Pepper Spray

This was the recent purchase I made on Amazon. We don’t live in the greatest part of town and sometimes running in certain areas can be a little sketchy. I decided to look into it and found one called “The Runner”. It’s a smallish container that has a Velcro strap so that you don’t have to keep a tight grip on it the whole time you’re running – it will stay safely wrapped around your hand and ready to go at a moment’s notice. I have yet to run after dark yet this year, but I know I’ll feel better having it on me. I sincerely hope I never have to use it though!

 

 

So, blogger friends – tell me what I missed! What do you use to stay safe while running alone?

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 responses to “I Wear My Sunglasses At Night

  1. I really need to get me another medical bracelet and a Road ID badge is a great option. My medical bracelet broke and I haven’t worn one since. Glad you posted this because apparently I needed the reminder! Great reminder for all of us!

  2. Julie says:

    Love the addition of the pepper spray!

  3. What a great idea to buy the runner pepper spray! I used to carry it with me too, but ended up giving it to my little sister who used to work In a Terrible section of town, I’ve gotta get another!
    I’m on the lookout for a new vest too-I saw one by Nathan that I like…once I actually pull the trigger and buy I I’ll let you know!:)

  4. Haha, I meant to write “I’ll let you know if I like it” dam…is it Friday yet? No? Wahhhh

  5. Now I am singing –
    I wear my sunglasses at night, so I so I can..

  6. osarah26 says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of gear for night-running. I usually run with my phone and that’s about it, but I’ve got sidewalks to run on now, like totally surrounded by buildings, no cars around, and no creeps either (even though we’re not in the best area either.) We’re moving soon and I’m not going to have that perk anymore – I already have a headlamp though!

    • Courtney says:

      I don’t have any sidewalks in my neighborhood, and I normally run on bike paths by myself. I think I’ll carry the stuff 😀

      • osarah26 says:

        For sure! Gotta stay safe! Never know who or what you’re going to encounter on a run! I’ve met up with bears during two hikes and both times I would have felt a lot better with pepper spray!

  7. piratebobcat says:

    Great tips! I always wear my runner ID. I wish I had a lamp, but I don’t. It would really help me in the early early early mornings. I really should run with a cell phone, but I sweat so much I need a waterproof pouch. Haven’t found a good one yet. Also, I don’t like carrying anything with me when I run. Need to get over that for safety reasons.

    • Courtney says:

      I can understand not wanting to carry stuff. It can sometimes be a hassle when you just want to go out and run. I would definitely look for a deal on a headlamp. I definitely scored on mine.

  8. I always carry my phone and pepper spray on every run. But I don’t run in the dark or I may have more stuff. I turn into a gym runner during the winter. 😦 I don’t have the courage to run in the dark or the cold!

    • Courtney says:

      I don’t mind the dark or cold. Once the streets aren’t passable due to snow, then it’s an issue. I just hate running on the treadmill. It doesn’t feel natural to me.

  9. I don’t take many safety precautions besides wearing my Road ID and never running with my headphones in so that I am always aware of my surroundings.

  10. haleyduke17 says:

    I have a really awesome LED blinking arm band that I scored at an expo once. It makes it near impossible to miss me. And if I’m road running, I always wear my vest.

  11. Kristin says:

    Wow, you provided a great list!! Thanks for the great advice!! XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

