Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #48

on August 22, 2014

Saturday – 6 miles

Sunday – 5 mile hike 

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – 5 miles

Wednesday – 1.5 mile ruck (ruck packed with 20 lb of bricks, 100 oz water bladder, foam yoga block)

Office workout Wed – 5 sets of 10 – 4 count flutter kicks and push-ups

Thursday – 5 miles

Office workout Thurs – 3 sets of 10 – 4 count flutter kicks and push-ups

Friday – Kayaking, possibly a ruck

 

You’ll notice I added in “office workouts”. I’m going to start keeping track of the stuff I do throughout the day in my cubicle. There are definitely not all done together, but throughout the day as time allows.

I’m very pleased with this week. Considering the pain that keeps happening during my half training, I’m glad I was able to get 3 full runs in this week. I’m a little concerned about my run this weekend which will be the longest of the training cycle – 10 miles. I’ve only ever run that distance once in April, but I also wasn’t dealing with these nagging injuries at the time (only the lack of endurance from them! LOL). After that, we’ll start going back down in distance until the race – only 3 weeks away now!

I took today off to spend with Tara, who has been on vacation all week. We’re going to go use our other Groupon we got for kayaking and then play it by ear. We have errands to do, but other than that, I might wrap my new “shiny” bricks and get a ruck in this afternoon. I borrowed a different rucksack from another friend (the one I used on Sunday for the hike) and after my run last night we stopped at Home Depot and got the bricks and some fun duct tape. Now I’ll have the exact weight I need to be carrying (4 bricks = 4.5 lb each = 18 lb) to practice with. It’s just a matter of finding the right rucksack now. Tara stopped by her parents house yesterday and also grabbed her brother’s army pack, but that thing is HUGE. I could fit myself, Tara and our 2 cats in there. OK, that might be a slight exaggeration. Either way, it’s far too big for this purpose.

Not much else to say on the week. Nose, grindstone, blah blah blah. For the song this week, this is one I’ve been debating putting up here for weeks now. I heard it on the way home from the run last night on the radio for the first time and decided I would finally pull the trigger and do it this week. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 responses to “Face The Music Friday #48

  1. Kristin says:

    Yaaay!!! We both have 10 miles this weekend!!! You can do it!! I will be thinking about you during my run!! XOXO!! Have a great one!!

  2. Excellent week for sure! Hope you and Tara enjoy your day together! I’m taking off Monday to take my dad to see Guardians!

    • Courtney says:

      We had a great time! I hope your dad enjoys Guardians. I’m still trying to convince Tara, but I’ve got other friends on board so I’m getting closer!

  3. dgobs says:

    10 miles! (That seems like so long to me, I’m worried about doing 6 on Sunday!) You’ve so got this… at least you’re not running 10 miles while hauling a rucksack with bricks! 🙂

    • Courtney says:

      It still seems long to me too! It took me almost 2:20 to do my race in April, so I know I’m gonna be out there a loooong time. I just make sure I have my podcasts downloaded and ready to go! And yes, without bricks is a BIG bonus. LOL

  4. Good luck with your 10 miles, you’ll do great!!

  5. piratebobcat says:

    Great week! Way to crush it! I’m glad I played the video – I also heard that on local radio, but didn’t know who it was. Great tune!

    • Courtney says:

      It’s come up a lot on various Spotify stations I’ve been listening to for a few weeks now and every time it comes on I key into it. There’s just something about it!

  6. Good luck with your 10 this weekend, I’m sure you’ll rock it. 🙂 Kayaking sounds great, have fun!

  7. d20girl says:

    Great week! Good luck on your ten miler this weekend!

  8. osarah26 says:

    Good luck with the rest of your half training! Those long runs are impressive.

Leave a Reply

