Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Carnivores Tour

on August 18, 2014

Saturday night was the Carnivores Tour concert with AFI, 30 Seconds To Mars and Linkin Park. As of my post on Friday, I wasn’t sure I was going to go, but I decided I was going to go that morning. I very much love AFI and Linkin Park, but really only knew the singles for 30 Seconds. I figured knowing 2 out of the 3 bands well (and liking the third enough) that it would be a good show. Was I in for a treat!

 

 

After I got 2 appointments and a 6 mile run out of the way, I headed off to meet my friends in Foxboro at Patriot Place to grab a bite to eat first at Five Guys. I left the house around 3ish and arrived there shortly after they did. I was ravenous from my run (and hadn’t had lunch) so I thoroughly enjoyed a little bacon cheeseburger and some cajun fries. Once we were finished, we decided it would make more sense to all go to the show in one car. I had bought the premium parking pass because I thought I’d be meeting them at the concert by myself and didn’t want to have to wait for two hours to leave the lot after the show, by myself. We all got in my car and that premium pass definitely paid off at the end of the night – we only waited 20 minutes to get out of the lot.

 

 

Patriot Place and the Xfinity Center are only a couple of exits apart, so it didn’t take us long to get there. Parking, on the other hand, was difficult to say the least. When we got off the highway, it was right there, but with no signage for “Premium Parking”. I asked the cop on our way in where to go and he just rudely kept waving and shouted it’s all the same, or something to that affect. Once we got in, we saw one sign that said Premium was in the left lane, so I moved over. We then went around a curve where both lanes merged into one, so I asked the girl about our pass and she moved some orange barrels and told us to go around the corner and “tell them you’re premium”. We go around the corner and see one more sign but it wasn’t clear where we were going, so we asked the next people we approached and he told us to go straight (which was barricaded off), so some guy moved cones for us again and sent us through. We FINALLY arrived to where we were supposed to go, handed the woman our pass and went right in. It was sort of ridiculous it even took this big of a paragraph to describe how dumb the parking situation was.

After we picked out a parking spot, we walked over and got in line to enter. The doors opened about 5 minutes after we got in line, so it was perfect timing. We had no issues going through the bag check and then went in to find our seats. We went to the left until I saw a sign that was pointing the other way for our seats, but then we all spied a cupcake truck and decided to indulge in a treat. Totally worth it, totally delicious. Once we had our treat, we walked over to the proper section and grabbed some drinks on the way in. The merch wasn’t all that exciting so for the second concert in a row I didn’t get a tshirt. Shocking for those who know me, I know.

Once we got inside, I found my friend Alaina from The Jogging Concierge who was, amazingly enough, seated 1 row in front of us and only about 8 seats over. We chatted it up until the show started and decided she should just sit in the empty seats in front of us until people came. I would say not even 1/3 of the place was filled for the opening band, AFI (which is a shame).

 

 

I knew all but one song in the AFI set and they sounded amazing! They started what would be a trend that night of GREAT interaction with the crowd. The lead singer, Davey, walked out onto the crowd in the front row and was literally walking from person to person while they held his feet over their heads. Very cool!

 

 

I’m going to put each band’s set list from that night from setlist.fm, which Dan had told me about. He apparently had researched the tour before we went to see it and knew approximately how many songs each band was going to play, which was kind of good (I think).

AFI played:

The Leaving Song Pt II

Girl’s Not Grey

I Hope You Suffer

Medicate

Love Like Winter

17 Crimes

The Days of the Phoenix

Silver And Cold

Miss Murder

 

Next up was going to be 30 Seconds To Mars. I knew I was only going to know their singles, so I wasn’t sure how much I’d enjoy them. Let me tell you – they put on a hell of a performance. They sounded great and were awesome with the crowd (even inviting tons of people up during the last song). They had balloons to bounce around the crowd and sprayed confetti out of air cannons for a few songs. Jared Leto even stood in the middle of the crowd towards the end and had a little boy sing with him and the little guy knew every word!

 

That blurry figure in the middle of the audience is Jared Leto

They brought tons of people up on stage for their last song

 

30 Seconds played:

Up in the Air

Night of the Hunter

This Is War

Conquistador

Kings and Queens

Do or Die

City of Angels

End Of All Days

Alibi

The Kill (Bury Me)

Closer To The Edge

 

Here is video of the little dude singing with Jared Leto in the middle of the audience. It was a giant acoustic sing-a-long and it was AMAZING.

 

 

 

I honestly might venture a guess that more people came to see 30 Seconds than Linkin Park because after their set was over, the people in front us left (and they weren’t there for AFI either). I noticed quite a few empty seats for Linkin Park actually, but it was still a packed house. I will admit, I was a little bit turned off by the way LP played their set. They did a lot of mashing up/remixing of sorts. They played a few complete songs, but several they would only sing a verse or two and the chorus and then switch to something else. I would just be getting into it and they’d change it mid song so I didn’t enjoy that a ton. I suppose with as many hits as they have it’s difficult to fit them all in when you’re sharing a bill with two other bands. They still sounded awesome and put on a good show. They even threw in some Fort Minor stuff.

 

So many cell phones lit up!

 

LP played:

Guilty All The Same

Given Up

With You

One Step Closer

Blackout

Papercut

Rebellion

Runaway

Wastelands

Castle of Glass

Leave Out All The Rest/Shadow Of The Day/Iridescent

Robot Boy

Joe Hahn Solo

Numb

Waiting For The End

Final Masquerade

Wretches and Kings/Remember The Name

Lying From You

Somewhere I Belong

In The End

Faint

Burn It Down

Lost In The Echo

New Divide

Until It’s Gone

What I’ve Done

Bleed It Out

 

The only video I got of Linkin Park – What I’ve Done:

 

 

 

 

Overall it was a great show and I was happy I decided to go. Everything moved really smoothly transitioning from one band to the next and I don’t think we ever waited more than 20 minutes between bands, which was awesome. If they’re coming to your area and you have the chance, you should absolutely go to this concert.

 

 

 

 

 

15 responses to “Carnivores Tour

  1. Kristin says:

    Wow, what a great show!!! So cool!!! Love 30 Seconds to Mars!! Saw them in concert!! Amazing!!

  2. I admit I just fan girl squealed over this recap. Love Like Winter, The kill and and This is War, I am so jealous!!! That sounds like it was an awesome concert!!!

  3. I haven’t been to a real concert in years, somehow the crowds etc seem like too much hassle. Your account both makes me feel like the old fart I am, but also makes me think perhaps my concert-going days aren’t entirely over?

    My first one was Fleetwood Mac, I think just after Rumours came out, and the Doobie Brothers, just to show what a dinosaur I am.

    My fave ever was a Joan Armatrading concert back in the 80’s, when crowds weren’t huge and we snuck up to the first row. I had SUCH a crush, I was on cloud nine the entire evening.

    • Courtney says:

      No worries, I even am starting to feel old. I used to go to tons of concerts back in the 90s/early 2000s, you know, before I had a mortgage. LOL

      Fleetwood Mac is an awesome first concert! Mine was at the same place this one was, except back then it was still “Great Woods”. It was The Counting Crows and The Wallflowers, except the Crows didn’t perform because the lead singer was having “vocal issues”.

  4. Such an amazing show!! I’m definitely going to download some 30 Seconds to Mars songs now. How awesome was it that we were so close together?? Made the concert that much better that’s for sure. 🙂

  5. They need to have cupcake trucks at every concert!

  6. dgobs says:

    Sounds like a great show! Minus the confusing parking… yikes. At least it worked out well at the end so you didn’t have to wait for forever to leave!

  7. piratebobcat says:

    Glad you had an amazing time! That venue looks just like a popular on here in Dallas. I’m pretty sure this same tour is playing there too. Rock on.

Leave a Reply

