Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #46

on August 8, 2014

Saturday – 8 miles

Sunday – Rest

Monday – 5 miles

Tuesday – 1 hr Core Fusion & Stretch class at Unleashed

Wednesday – Rest

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Rest

 

I’m not gonna lie – this wasn’t a good week. Saturday was a very, very soggy 8 miles in the rain. And I don’t mean like a drizzle. It was pouring on me steadily the majority of the time I was running. I did it though, and only did it that day to rearrange my entire workout week. I had it planned down to a T, then it all kind of fell apart.

Saturday after my run I had a lot of hip soreness (which I always do), but my IT band was also bothering me on the other side (the bad IT band). I had my ice bath when I got home, popped some Advil and did my stretching and rolling right away, but it only seemed to get worse as the afternoon went on. I figured some sleep would help and when I woke up Sunday, it was still sore, but not as bad. I decided to chill out and see how Monday went before deciding on my next run scheduled, which was 5 miles.

 

 

Monday was OK so I went for my run after work. Apparently, it wasn’t OK. By the time I got back to my car to stretch, I could barely stand on it. Not cool. I decided then and there that I likely wouldn’t be running again until the Spartan race on Saturday, which was a bummer because I had rearranged my schedule so I could run in the Off Road Conditioning class on Wednesday. I suffered through work on Tuesday in a decent amount of pain anytime I put weight on my leg, but decided I would still go to a new class I wanted to try out Tuesday night because I thought it could be beneficial.

 

 

The class on Tuesday was Core Fusion & Stretch. It was basically 1/2 hour of core work and 1/2 hour of stretching – the majority of the hour was basically yoga poses we would hold for about a minute each. I’m not gonna lie, I was sweating my ass off even though we were “just stretching”. It was a very difficult class, for me personally, so I was glad it was only 5 women taking it so there were less people to see me embarrass myself.

It’s really hard for me to do a lot of floor work because of various issues I have and I always feel like people are judging me, like I’m not trying hard enough. The issue is that I know my body and I will NOT push through pain. Toughness, yes, I’ll work through something difficult, but if it hurts me to have my lower back against the floor, I just can’t do it. Do I want to do it, yes. Do I feel like a failure when my body won’t let me, yes. Are people really judging me? I’m sure they’re not – doesn’t change my mindset. Regardless, doing what I could, I still got a kickass workout from Bobby and am still sore two days later.

Aside from workouts, I’ve just felt “off” this week. Maybe it’s because my schedule got messed up and I got injured again. Actually, I’m pretty sure that’s why. I’m a planner, and when things don’t happen according to plan, I get easily perturbed. Add into this mix that the air conditioning is broken at work (only in our one corner of the building on the third floor) and it’s been 88* inside for the last two days (and likely today too) and that makes for a cranky Courtney.

Saturday is my second of 3 Spartan Races for the year. I’m more nervous about this one than I was the first one for some reason. Maybe because I’ve actually run one now and know how difficult it can be? Who knows. I have some Battle Buddies ready to run with and am hoping they can help me over the walls like my friend Zak did at the first one. If I have to walk the whole thing because of my hip and knee, I hope they’ll still stick with me, but I’m going to try to run where I can.

 

 

Before I move on to the musical selection this week, I have a question for all the runners out there (if you’ve made it this far): if my Spartan Race is almost 5 miles on Saturday, but I’m supposed to do my long run Sunday of 9 miles, what would you do? Would you count the race as your tough workout of the weekend? Would you run the race Saturday and then run 9 on Sunday, or would you run 4 additional on Sunday to make the 9? I’m really torn about how to handle it and welcome any advice.

Now, to cheer me up a little, here’s a perky little number called I Wish I Was A Punk Rocker by Sandi Thom. Have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 responses to “Face The Music Friday #46

  1. Hmm gosh I hope your IT band problems heal quickly! Ouch! I have no idea what to tell you in that situation but running the Spartan and then doing the additional 4 the next day makes sense to me! (Although this is from someone who rarely runs so I’m totally not the right person to know the answer to that!) Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend!

    • Courtney says:

      I’ve kind of been waiting for it to rear it’s ugly head again as I ramped up my mileage. I’m just so annoyed it actually happened again. I think I’m literally going to have to play it by ear to see how I feel after the race. It’s going to be a brutal one from what I’ve heard/seen so far.

  2. cwupcake says:

    Ouch! I sincerely hope those bonus rest days are helping your IT band heal.
    As for the Spartan/Long Run conflict, I’ve been in that position. Typically, it really depends on how I feel the next day. Some Spartans, I’ll feel fine and ready for a run, others I feel like a rusted tinman and ready for glass of wine.
    Given that you are currently injured, I’d lean more towards counting the Spartan as your tough workout for the weekend, even if you feel like you could. Doubly so if it is a hilly/mountainy course.

    • Courtney says:

      Well, I can walk without limping which is a good step forward. lol

      It’s going to a very steep, hilly course so I know it’ll be tough. I’m definitely going to play it by ear, but I’m leaning towards taking Sunday off.

  3. DarlinRae says:

    Sorry you had an off week, but don’t let it get to you. Take care of yourself!

    And also, I freaking love that song!

    • Courtney says:

      Thanks! Doing the best I can.

      Isn’t that song great? A friend of ours in the UK told us about her and that song a few years ago and I’ve loved it ever since!

  4. d20girl says:

    Yikes, I hope that IT band calms down for you! And yes, you need to count the Spartan race as your tough run and skip the next one. Honestly that would be my advice whether you were dealing with an injury or not. Racing is so much harder on your body than a training run and you don’t need that plus a challenging long run back to back. Good luck out there!!

    • Courtney says:

      That’s what I’m thinking at this point. I think I’ll use Sunday for lots of TLC (especially if I’m beat up like I was after my first Spartan in June).

  5. Ugh, IT band issues bite, sorry it decided to flare up. Good luck at your race this weekend! I would probably;y count that as the tough workout for the weekend, races are always harder than training runs. Maybe just consider this a recovery week 🙂

    • Courtney says:

      I kept waiting for it to happen and thought I might get away with it since I’m much better about stretching and rolling than when it first happened. Oh well!

      And thanks! I’ll need all the luck I can get judging by the looks of the course map that was leaked.

  6. I’m really sorry about your IT woes. I think I’d play it by ear and see how you feel after the Spartan…but I’m leaning towards counting as your tough workout for the weekend and moving on. Better to miss those extra 4 miles than risk further injury! Good luck!!

  7. biz319 says:

    Sorry you are in pain – that sucks! And if it were me, I would call your Saturday run your tough run for the week – especially if you are having pain, you don’t want to make it any worse!

    Hugs – and thanks for the music link – I loved that song!

  8. Ohhh I am so sorry about your injury popping up again-no bueno. If I were you-I would run the race and add the four-IF and only IF you feel your body can take it. You don’t want to push yourself hard and wind up even worse off. Good luck, and remember what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!!!

    • Courtney says:

      I found your comment in my spam folder again! I wonder why you keep having WordPress issues. Have you tried emailing them about it? You can tell them when you comment on blogs (at least mine anyway) it goes to spam or doesn’t show up at all.

      Thanks for the advice. After the 3 hours ass whooping I took yesterday, I’m tapping out for the rest of the weekend.

      • I have tried-they couldn’t figure it out! I have contacted askmiat too (twice)and I haven’t heard anything back yet! So frustrating!

        Good I’m glad you didn’t do the two days bc it could be trouble for your it! Three hours-ouch!!!! That’s a heck of a hard course!

  9. So sorry. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

