Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #43

on July 18, 2014

Saturday – 9+ hours on my feet at Unleashed Open House + mowed lawn

Sunday – 6 miles

Monday – Train Reaxion (description below)

Tuesday – 2.5 miles

Wednesday – 1 hr kettlebell workshop + messed around on obstacles a bit

Thursday – 4 miles

Friday – Kayaking + mowing the lawn planned for today

 

Busy, busy week! No real rest day to speak of because I decided to mix up my routine a bit and try some of another trainer’s classes at Unleashed. They were AMAZING! Monday was a regularly scheduled class, but Wednesday was a small group class that he put on just for a few ambassadors who had expressed interest in taking one of his classes at the open house, but we really didn’t have time. Totally worth the quad and glute pain I’ve had since Monday! It certainly made my runs on Tuesday and Thursday interesting, to say the least.

As for the runs, half marathon training is going right along by the plan. I was supposed to do 4 miles on Tuesday as well, but between my muscle soreness and the 88% humidity, my body wasn’t having it. I also had some stomach issues with these stupid protein drinks we’re on from the nutritionist. I did tell him we’re not going to be using the powder anymore once it’s gone. It’s just too nasty and too expensive.

So this class on Monday was a sweat fest! Below is a description of the class. The first 2 columns were done 4 times through, 30 seconds on, 12 seconds off. The last 2 columns were done I think 3 times through, 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off. It was super intense and tough, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

 

 

Before I can go on, I need to share this video. I know everyone and their mother has posted about her all over social media, but in case you missed it, Kacy Catanzaro became the first woman to ever finish an American Ninja Warrior qualifying round. She then put on this amazing performance and made it through the Finals! She’s going to Mt. Midoriyama!! It’s so exciting to watch! I love this show so much and now have a super chick to root for!

 

 

As for an update on the nutritionist plan, well, I hate it. I hated it on day one. I hate it on day 6. I feel like I’m always hungry unless I just literally put food in my mouth 5 minutes ago. I’m really tired in the morning without my coffee and then when it’s bedtime, I (and Tara) have to get up like 2-3 times to pee in the middle of the night, which never used to happen until this week. I also can’t sleep well past 2-4am and then I toss and turn quite a bit. As I mentioned before, when the protein powder is gone, we’ll resort to just eating real food again, which is kind of what I wanted in the first place. The one positive of the week is that I’ve lost 7.5 lb since Sunday. This is not that big of a deal because this has happened with me before when starting a new type of diet. It’s mostly just water weight that comes off in the very beginning. What will be interesting to see is how it progresses over the coming weeks when it levels out, and I introduce more actual food into my diet again. I’ll keep updating, at least weekly here, if not when something else arises.

 

 

Tara and I will be going kayaking today. She had all this week off so I took one day to hang out with her and I just happened to pick the right day! The weather should be gorgeous and I can’t wait to hit the water.

I went local with this week’s song pick. This is a Providence band and I just love their sound. This was the first song I ever heard of theirs played on the radio and I still love it to this day. At the time, they were simply “The Rice Cakes”, but now I guess they go by Roz and The Rice Cakes. Who knows. Anyway, enjoy Yellow Fields!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 responses to “Face The Music Friday #43

  1. WOW epic week on the exercise front! And yikes about the nutritionist but great job with that loss. Hopefully it will continue so you can bust through that plateau. I never actually sat down and watched that video until just now. WOW. Geaux Kacy!

  2. dgobs says:

    That’s one badass week! 🙂 I love kayaking and haven’t been in way too long! Hope you have perfect weather and a great time!

    • Courtney says:

      It was absolutely gorgeous weather. There were a million people out there. It was a bit tricky going at low tide with all sorts of sand bars, but we were like pros out there. LOL

  3. Wow. Tons of exercise. I have never watch ANW before, but that video is amazing. That girl is incredible.

    • Courtney says:

      I love ANW so much. It’s amazing what those athletes can do and have 3 women complete a qualifying course this year was amazing. I can’t wait to see the other city finals to see if either of the other women get through.

  4. Great week! I hope you enjoyed kayaking. Isn’t she awesome? I was watching on Monday and so thought she lost it on those damn bar things but she pulled it off! Have a great weekend!

  5. Wow, so much cool stuff in this post–you are amazing! Though that eating plan sounds pretty hard core and hope it gets easier when more foods are added. But yowza, that’s an impressive start even if some of it is water. And hadn’t heard of Roz and the Rice Cakes but great sound!

  6. piratebobcat says:

    I’ve only done kayaking a few times, but have LOVED it. The best was in Alaska. They have a group that meets here each week, but I have yet to join them. Maybe soon!

Leave a Reply

