Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #35

on May 23, 2014

Saturday – Abington Police 5K

Sunday – Traveled back from MA/mowed lawn/cleaned up the house

Monday – 35 min (mostly) walk

Tuesday – 10 min challenge* + 5 min yoga (until I decided I just wasn’t into it)

Wednesday – 1 hour off road conditioning class through Unleashed

Thursday – Rest

Friday – ?? Not sure yet

 

*For this week’s challenge, my reps were as follows (click here to see the challenge origin):
Lunges – 55
Push-ups – 40
KB swings – 72 (w/ 4K kettlebell)
Burpees – 17
Planks – 32 sec, 30 sec, 15 sec
 

All in all, it felt like a good, busy workout week. I set out for a run on Monday after work, but my stomach had other ideas and it just ended up being a walk. The class on Wednesday was AWESOME. Totally hard, but much more doable than the last (and only other) time I took that class. Kevin estimates we probably ran around 4+ miles through the trail. I was also gear testing some stuff for the Mudder to make sure they would work. I bought some Thorlo Experia socks so I wore those, plus I wore my Camelbak again to see how it would do including things other than just running (which is all I did the first time I wore it). Throughout the class, we’d pause to keep the group together and we’d do burpees, push-ups and squats as a break and it did pretty well. There was some movement for burpees with the jumping, but it stayed put for pretty much everything else.

Julie and Dan will be coming down this weekend to help us put up our pool. Saturday I’ll probably power wash the house/deck, etc and then they’ll be down for Sunday and Monday when the weather should be better. Rain is forecast for tomorrow, but with how things have gone lately, we’ll have to see how things unfold.

Being that this weekend is Memorial Day weekend, please take a moment out of your day to think about the reasons we’re free to have our BBQs and pool parties. Don’t just remember the men and women who have died, but also think about those that are still out there serving and especially about those who have come “home”, but may never feel like it again. If you have a moment, please take a look at these websites.

Wounded Warrior Project

Carry The Fallen

My song choice this week may be upsetting for some to watch or listen to (Tara), so please bear that in mind before you press play.

Rise Against – Hero Of War (not sure why the video won’t embed, but you can use link)

 
12 responses to “Face The Music Friday #35

  1. Good week and an excellent reminder of what Memorial Day really is about! Have a good weekend!

  2. d20girl says:

    Great work this week. 40 pushups?!?! Awesome! And we all need a reminder sometimes of what Memorial Day is really for. I make a point of taking my Dad out for lunch for Veteran’s Day but don’t always think of it on Memorial Day.

    • Courtney says:

      It’s funny because I never really used to think about it, even having members of my family that have served. It really hit home when my brother-in-law was almost killed in Iraq in 2006 and made me think twice.

  3. dawn @ running the dawn says:

    thanks for the reminder to focus on the real meaning of this holiday! it’s so easy to forget until we have a loved one that is in the midst of it all…

  4. Great workouts and such a great reminder that it’s not a party holiday like a lot of people like to think. I am guilty of focusing on the 3 days aspect more than the real reason behind the day.

  5. piratebobcat says:

    Great week! Enjoy your Memorial Day weekend!

  6. You had such awesome workouts! How did you like the Thorlo Experias? They’re my fave!

Leave a Reply

