Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #27

on March 28, 2014

No fitness this week. Last weekend, I felt a scratchiness in my throat starting Friday night. We spent the weekend in MA for Julie’s birthday and it got progressively worse to where congestion starting creeping in. I kept it at bay while we were there, but then Sunday started the fever and chills and I knew I was done for. I went to work Monday morning, stayed until 1:00 and then needed to go home because I would have just been useless. I stayed home Tuesday for more rest and, ideally, could have used one more day at home, but went back to work on Wednesday. Today is the first day I’ve felt somewhat human since last Saturday, so that’s nice.

 

Classic SNL!

 

 

I thought I got lucky, but with SO many people sick in my department, workplace in general and families we know, I knew I couldn’t get through the whole winter! I also said something to someone in a comment on their blog about it last week and totally jinxed myself.

 

 

I’m concerned about my fitness level because of the last two weeks, but there is nothing I can do about it now. I have a 5K race tomorrow and am hoping that I’ll feel well enough in the morning to run it. The weather shows 70% rain (which will suck in March) but maybe it will skip just one hour in the morning so I don’t have to get soaked.

In other race news, I found out a couple of days ago via a random email that the Cox Rhode Races changed the date of the 5K race I was running. It was scheduled for 5/3, which is a Saturday. The email said “exciting changes” and when I read it, it said they moved it from Roger Williams Park to the “main” race area near India Point Park in Providence so we could be a part of the “festivities” and more a part of the main race. While I appreciate that, I signed up to run on Saturday, not Sunday. I was fine running on Saturday and then volunteering for the half and full marathons with my running club on Sunday, but I can’t do both at the same time. The racing company was kind enough to offer me a refund (among other options), which I think I will probably take so I can still volunteer with my group. I can use it for another race entry later this year when I need to sign up for more. I haven’t 100% decided, but that’s basically where I stand for now.

For my song choice this week, this is a newer favorite. I heard it for the first time a couple of weeks ago on the local alternative radio station I listen to and love it. I didn’t even realize, until I saw the video, that I was rocking out to an accordion! This will definitely be added to my running playlist.

Kongos – Come With Me Now

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 responses to “Face The Music Friday #27

  1. Aww sorry about the cold. Hope you are feeling better. Sounds like you needed the rest anyway on the fitness front too. Good luck tomorrow with the 5K! Hope you’ll be well enough to run it and the weather will hold out for you!

  2. Hope you’re feeling better!

    My parents told me about the race change and they probably won’t run because of their schedule. I probably will still end up running. We shall see! 🙂

    • Courtney says:

      A little bit each day! I sent the email a few hours after I wrote this and asked them for a refund. It’s too bad because I would have liked to be a part of the festivities, but they probably should have figured all that out before letting people register.

  3. Hope you’re feeling better and that your race went well this morning!

  4. biz319 says:

    Hope you are feeling better Courtney! Having a cold sucks ass. I’ve never heard of that band before, but I kinda like it! It’s always interesting when there is an accordion in a band!

  5. d20girl says:

    Yuck, I know it’s an obvious statement, but being sick really really stinks! I hope you’re feeling better!

  6. Hey girl I hope you’re feeling better! I haven’t seen a post from you in a while-just checking up on ya to make sure you’re ok!!:) did you end up running your 5k?! Hope to hear from you soon!:)

    • Courtney says:

      Yeah, I’ve kind of been on “hiatus” I guess. I’m working on a post now that I may or may not get up before I have to go to work. Thanks for checking in! 😀

Leave a Reply

