Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

My Favorite Time Of The Year

on December 2, 2013

I love this time of year, from Thanksgiving to New Year’s. There is plenty of family gatherings, visiting with friends and lots and lots of lights!!! Let’s also not forget my birthday!  😉

We decided Sunday would be the day we put up our tree and decorations. After we got our grocery shopping over with in the morning, we got home just in time to get stuff cleaned up before the Patriots game came on (what a scary win!) so that we could start decorating while I watched the game.

I’ve always loved having a real tree, unfortunately when we bought our sectional for the living room we didn’t have room anymore. We got a steal of a deal on a fake tree one year at Target so that’s what we’ve used the last few years. We always make sure we put up our most treasured ornaments and just use the lights that came on the tree, keeping it simple.

Introducing the C-K family tree of 2013! I thought it would be fun to share my most treasured ornaments over the years.

 

 

These ornaments are for my angel fur baby, Boomer. We had to put him down last August at 18 years old and it was definitely a difficult holiday season without him. He loved “helping” me decorate. These special ornaments from friends and family helped a great deal.

 

That is Boomer’s paw print from his angel day, from our thoughtful vet. We found the ornament frame at Target.

 

These are my favorites given to us as a couple.

 

I gave this one to Tara. It’s hard to read, but I had it engraved with “Courtney & Tara 2004”.

 

These are my favorites from when we bought our first home, in 2008.

 

This ornament is hollow and we kept needles from the first years in our home inside it, up until we stopped getting the real trees.

 

You can’t forget my favorite sports teams!

 

This one lights up and plays Christmas tunes.

 

And a few miscellaneous favorites!

 

A hand painted ornament from a friend with my favorite, a lighthouse.

I may not live there anymore, but I’ll always be a Masshole.

A friend got me this in Hawaii.

 

Of course, with anything new or unfamiliar in the house, the cats are all over it. Sniffing, climbing and, unfortunately sometimes, chewing. When the Christmas stuff comes out, we always need to get adorable pics of the fur babies in their little costumes. This will be our second Christmas with Flynn and Delilah so Tara decided to do a comparison to their “kittenness” of last year. I dare you not to say “Awww!”.

 

17 responses to “My Favorite Time Of The Year

  1. Desiree says:

    Aww love the pics of your tree, ornaments and the kitties! How in the world did you get your cats to post with hats?! LOL

  2. DragonLady says:

    Love the pictures. LOL @ the kitties! I finally managed to get enough motivation to go search the shed for the tree. It is still sitting in the living room in the box because that was all the motivation I could muster. 😉 I don’t know how any ornaments will survive all of our cats. *sigh*

    • beach3519 says:

      Well, step by step you’ll eventually get it set up! Ours have done shockingly well. Occasionally Flynn will try to chew on one, but as long as we use our stern voice with him he gets the message.

  3. Haha, their facial expressions remind me if my cats! They fight over the tree every year too 🙂

  4. Jules says:

    Love seeing all the ornaments and pictures of the babies!

  5. Your cats look so calm near the tree. I just know Harlee would go bat crap crazy and tear one down (she is a bit nuts).

    • beach3519 says:

      LOL, don’t let it fool you. They’ve had their shares of “get away from that!!” since yesterday, but overall they have tons of toys and they just sleep most of the day anyway.

  6. Oh my gosh! I looooove the paw print ornament. What a fantastic idea. You’ve got a great collection!

  7. natella111 says:

    Love your ornaments and the kitties, of course! 🙂

Leave a Reply

