Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Oh Garmin, This Is The Beginning Of A Beautiful Friendship

on October 19, 2013

Today, I ran outside. I’m giddy even just writing that. Let me repeat for full effect. I ran outside.

Why is this a big deal to me? I’ve only been able to run again for the last 2 weeks and all 6 times I’ve run have been in the gym, on a treadmill. I was too nervous to run outside because A) I don’t have any nighttime running gear yet and B) I was afraid of hills. I was too nervous coming back from my IT band injury that if I run my regular routes (which all involve hills, no matter how small) I’d aggravate the injury again.

Since we had nothing to do this weekend except some yard work, I decided I’d go out for a run outside today since it was in the morning. I set out around 10am with my plan for running for 20 minutes (next week I’m upping it 10% to 22 minutes). It was a gorgeous morning, perfect fall temperature and brightly shining sun. I also busted out my new “toy” that I haven’t been able to use since I bought it at the RnR Expo – my Garmin Forerunner 210.

I’m in love.

I can’t even describe how excited I was to get home and plug it in to upload to the Garmin Connect and check out all my stats. I’m going to absolutely love wearing this thing! It looks gigantic on my tiny wrist, but it never shifted while I was running and fit comfortably the whole time.

 

My stats from today (including 5 minute warm-up walk and cool down walk)

 

After my run (which felt AWESOME), I changed into some grubby yard clothes and mowed the lawn and trimmed some stuff. I finished just in time for the guy to get here for our “pre-test” to get the energy efficiency work done on our house. He set up some weird frame in our front door and pumped air in and out of the house. It was pretty interesting but I don’t pretend to understand what he was doing! Anyway, he said it was perfect and we could proceed with the work. We’re already pre-approved for the loan so he said we just need to wait for his results to get logged and they’ll contact me for the appt to get the actual work done. So exciting! Maybe we won’t freeze to death this winter finally!!

I’ve been doing my best to catch up on emails from last weekend and throughout this week because of the art festival last weekend and finally have it down under 75. My two fur babies have not been much help, sleeping on the job. I suppose it’s a good thing to be doing while watching Game 6 and hoping the Red Sox can clinch another entry into the World Series. Let’s go, Sox!!

 

10 responses to “Oh Garmin, This Is The Beginning Of A Beautiful Friendship

  1. I love my Garmin and never run without it!! You will love it:)

  2. I love my Garmin. It really helps me to see how I am doing.

  3. Glad you got to run outside! As someone who is usually battling some kind of injury, I understand that glee!!!

  4. New running toys are the best! I love seeing the numbers!

  5. I too love my garmin. So fun!

  6. Beth says:

    Yay on the run and the Garmin!!! Outside running is THE best. 😉 Cute kitties!

  7. Desiree' says:

    Great run and awesome about the Garmin!

  8. DUDE! That thing is freaking cool!!! I only knew of Garmin as the car navigation system. Yep. I live under a rock! 😉

  9. I LOVE my Garmin!!! And I love all the data it gives you from your run…yeah I’m a nerd lol!

  10. I adore my Garmin too. The charts and graphs are awesome!

Leave a Reply

