Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Exciting Stuff

on October 9, 2013

I really need to win the lottery. Then I could hire a personal chef, trainer, sports chiro/PT and massage therapist. Then I’d be all set. But of course you have to play the lottery to win…that’s kind of an issue.

I’m way too picky of an eater. I can’t plan a workout to save my life. And lastly, if I’m going to keep getting injured, I want to have the last two on call!

OK, back to reality!

I had my second and last PT appt yesterday morning. I asked her about my running on the treadmill on Monday and what she thought about it. She said that was a good sign I was able to do it as long as I did and recommended that I not go longer once I feel any pain (which I figured, I know it was stupid).

There was also a really nice guy there that I didn’t see the last time. She asked him to hop in and help me towards the end of my appt. Turns out he’s a PT teacher, plus a triathlon/running coach. He walked me through a few new exercises to do (since one of them she gave me before was too easy for me) and then they both observed how exactly I foam roll at home. They were both kind of amazed at how easy I made it look because of how much it hurts when you do it (which I know everyone knows!). I told them when you roll 3, 4, 5, 6 times a day that you get used to the pain! HAHA!

He told me he has a Facebook page specifically about his races and training and that he helps people out with any questions they have for free! Score! I liked his page as soon as I left the office. I’ll take anything I can get at this point. He also suggested I could add 10% per week of time instead of distance if I opted to do that, which I think I might. He was a really nice guy, which I was happy about since he just kind of took over my appt and that makes me nervous when it’s not who I’m used to dealing with.

Last night we went back to PF. I wasn’t sure what I would do, but then in the afternoon I decided I needed to work off the cake we had at work so I opted to do ½ hour on the elliptical and then the 30 minute circuit thing they have set up at PF.

I didn’t use a single one of the stepper things they provide though, as I’m a bit of a klutz sometimes and didn’t want to trip on it. I opted to do 5 floor exercises, twice each, in between each strength machine. I did: burpees, squats, mountain climbers, lunges and jumping jacks. Each time the light goes green, you have 1 minute to do whatever station you’re on (whether the strength machines or in between) so for those 5 exercises I was absolutely gassed after 1 minute. I gave it all I had though!

I’m really bad at planning workouts (like I already mentioned), so while we were there last night I took advantage of signing up for one of their “design a custom workout” sessions that they offer one on one with their resident trainer. That will be on Oct 21st, so hopefully he can help me. I have to just figure out what I really want from him.

My ultimate goals for 2014 are to complete a half marathon (just finish, I have no aspirations of time) and complete a Tough Mudder. For the first, it’s all about the running but I’d like him to work in the best stuff I can do to strengthen my running. For the second, I KNOW I need a lot of upper body work. I need a lot of work on grip strength and overall arm strength or I’ll never be able to do any rope climbs/monkey bars/anything like that. My core isn’t all that strong either. Yeah…so basically I need to work on absolutely everything. I just need to know the best way to go about it without overdoing. I think I did that to myself while I was trying to go from 5K to 10K distance and don’t want a repeat.

It’s funny, because at home I have a binder overflowing with printouts from the web. I’ve got helpful articles, different circuits I’ve seen, stretches, recommendations for running plans, etc. I’m seriously hopeless in putting it all together though. Anyone out there on the interwebs want to coach me for free? I feel like if I had someone to literally say “do this, this, this and this” I’d be all set. I can follow instructions like nobody’s business.

Switching topics, I got a couple of packages today. One I can’t talk about because it’s a secret and someone that reads my blog will find out about it. The other was a prize that I won through a blog I read regularly, From Couch To Ironwoman. I won a giveaway that she had for a Tommie Copper shirt from their ActiveFit line. The link I included is the actual shirt I chose (in the sky blue color). I prefer men’s shirts because I don’t like the cut of women’s shirts and I feel like the sleeves are too short for my liking. I was so excited to get it that I wore it to the gym tonight to test it out!

Straight out of the box, I loved the way it felt. It was really soft and smooth and fit just right. The only issue I had was the sleeves were a good length, but for some reason they kept riding up into my armpits (or pretty close to it) while I was walking around prior to leaving the house. I didn’t have any issues on the treadmill though. Definitely a new favorite shirt to wear while I’m running.

And finally the most exciting thing tonight was the running. I was able to run for 30 min straight and didn’t have any pain in my knee! I probably could have kept going because it felt so good to be running, but didn’t want to push too much too fast. I may stick around 30 min for a bit until that feels completely regular again before I up it anymore. I’m so pumped though…I’m not gonna lie!

One more day left in my work week and then I get a 4 day mini vacation. Three of those will be at the Scituate Art Festival working with my best friend at her booth, so if you’ll be around stop by and say hi!

2 responses to “Exciting Stuff

  1. Desiree' says:

    Awesome job on being able to run again! Glad you are able to run again! Congrats on the shirt win and I hope you enjoy your mini vacation!

  2. Great news on both the shirt win and the running win!!

Leave a Reply

