Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Face The Music Friday #2

on September 27, 2013

First things first: if you missed my initial Face The Music Friday, check it out here.

Now, onto the big business. Drumroll please!

My weight this week is:     184.1

Beginning: 240

Last week: 185.6

This week: -1.5 lb

Total loss: 55.9 lb

I’m honestly surprised that I had as good of a loss as I did. Like I mentioned last week, I typically have two good weeks per month and this happened to be the first of two (if I stick to schedule). Maybe I just lucked out that the junk that I did end up eating this week was on a good week and not a bad week. Dumb luck I suppose.

I had my PT this morning (finally) for my knee. She confirmed it was my IT Band causing my knee pain. She said that I had been doing everything right that I’ve been doing so far in terms of rolling, icing, etc. She gave me some strengthening exercises to help me out because she said that my inner thigh muscles down near my knees (I forget the name of it) were weaker. She also said something about patellar tracking – I guess the kneecap should kind of zig zag as you bend and flex the knee, but mine just goes in a straight line. Who knew!

She also happened to check out my hip (that I injured last year and still bothers me) and said it was most likely also from the IT Band on that side and could be my left knee is bothering me from overcompensating for the right. I’m a hot mess. I tried to tell her just how inflexible I was before she examined me, but little did she know until she saw for herself!

 

 

After we went through the exam and exercises, she did some ultrasound for about 5 minutes with some topical cortisone and then some manual massage for a minute or two. She finished up with a quick minute of ice massage and then I was off to work! It hurt like hell (still kind of does as I write this at almost bedtime!) but I’m hoping it helped overall. She OK’d me using my elliptical, which I had been concerned about, so I’m pleased with that. She wants me to lay off the running for now (which I’m glad I haven’t done other than 1 x per week during races). I have to go back to see her in around a week and see how I’m progressing so maybe we’ll see how long till I can give it the old college try again.

Now to my favorite part of the post: the music!!

This week I picked Florence + The Machine’s “What The Water Gave Me”. I like how it starts out kind of slow and quiet, but builds faster and louder. I can’t really describe the intense feeling I get when I listen to the song.

Fun fact about this song too: the title was inspired by the Frida Kahlo painting of the same name. Frida is also tied for my wife’s favorite painter (with Georgia O’Keefe) so that adds to the fun!

 

 

Now enjoy some Florence!

One response to “Face The Music Friday #2

  1. Desiree' says:

    Love me some Florence! Great loss this week and I’m glad the doc gave you the green light for the elliptical! Hoping the pain will lessen soon for you!

Leave a Reply

