Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

Sunny September Saturday

on September 7, 2013

Today was race 1 of 5 in the next 5 weeks – the NK5K. I couldn’t have asked for better weather for running. Temps in the mid 60s and a nice breeze with bright sunshine. It was a perfect weather day.

We got there around 9am and it seemed a little disorganized. It was in Tara’s hometown and her high school so we knew how to get there easy enough, but no idea where to go from there. They were just wrapping up the kids fun run so we went to that area to check it out because I saw tables from the parking lot. Turns out those were the post-race food for the 5K. We ended up in the school cafeteria after asking somebody about where to pick up bibs.

After we got that all sorted out, we played the waiting game, as always. This is my time to people watch and psych myself up for the mobs of runners that I’ll be stuck in the middle of for a little while. Right before we lined up to start, I saw an old friend I used to work with that I hadn’t seen in probably a few years. Nice surprise!

After the race!

She gave me the heads up before the race of a brutal gradual hill that we would have to run so I was prepared. The race got going at 10am and I felt good. Very comfortable start. I felt like I settled into a pace pretty well and tried to not pay attention to other people because it tends to mess up my pacing.  I used my Runkeeper app to keep track of the distance and pace (finally remembering for once to turn it on at the start).

I felt good until around mile 2 when my stupid knee starting acting up again. I don’t know what’s going on with it but it’s really annoying me. I kept going at my regular pace and it was OK until we were almost at the very end. We were rounding the last corner when it started hurting so bad I nearly stopped to walk. Since I was so close to the end, I always like to pick up the pace to finish strong. I found that when I went a little faster that it eased up a bit. I ended up finishing in 35:21. Not my fastest, but with the hills I was pretty happy with that time.

I was pretty excited at the end because I was all by myself and all of a sudden I saw a green shirt out of the corner of my left eye. She was going pretty quick and finishing fast so I decided to sprint along side of her across the finish line. It was great, I think we crossed at the same time. She actually came up to me a minute later and, with a tap on my shoulder, I turned around and she gave me a high five. It was great and made me feel really good. Thanks green-shirt girl!

After the race, I said goodbye to my friend and went off to find a shady patch of grass to stretch on. I grabbed a post-race banana and drank my chocolate milk and we headed home.

After a quick visit home, we headed out to Barden Orchards to pick some apples. I can’t remember if I’d ever been fruit picking before but it was sort of fun. I probably would have enjoyed it more if my knee wasn’t so sore, but it was still a nice time.

We were a little put off by the prices for the stuff in their farm store so we decided to stop off at another Farmer’s Market that we know is more reasonably priced and a favorite of ours. Plus it was on our way home-bonus! We bought some fresh veggies and I also had my first taste of gelato (coconut-yum)!

Apparently, gelato makes me pensive

Since we got home after our farm adventures, we’ve just been trying to relax because my knee is a joke. I’ve had ice on it and been keeping it up most of the afternoon, plus some ibuprofen…so we’ll see. Hoping it works itself out because I’ve got four more races coming up and don’t want to be wasting registration money!

Just for good measure…one of my adorable babies.

Racing makes Flynn sleepy. I think I shall join him soon.

IMG_2651

2 responses to “Sunny September Saturday

  1. Nice job! I hope you get your knee figured out! Your cat is so cute.

Leave a Reply

