Don't blink. Just run.

Where training meets fandom. And everything in between.

I get by with a little help from my friends

on August 18, 2013

Wonderful weekend so far! Tara and I went for a hike in the Maxwell Mays Wildlife Refuge on Saturday.

carr pond

It was gorgeous weather for our first outing there. We definitely found it easier than some of the trails we’ve hiked so far. And it was way buggier. We use Ben’s Spray, which is supposed to cover all sorts of critters, but about an hour in we had to reapply it was so bad out there. I suppose it’s because we were near a pond for half the hike but it was brutal!

hh trail double shot

hiding  You can’t see me!

sad rock   This sad rock just wanted a friend!

We hiked the whole area, which was actually 2 different trails: the Carr Pond (CP) Trail and the Hammitt Hill (HH) Trail. All total, we walked about 2.5 miles or so over the course of about 2 hours. We also discovered the Carr family cemetery, which was interesting to check out. Some of the headstones were so old we couldn’t even read them.

IMG_0776

After our hike, I decided we should drive up to MA to see our best friends, Julie and Dan. I quickly mowed the lawn and we got packed up and drove up there for a surprise quick visit. We did a little shopping at the “fancy” Target, then some dinner at Not Your Average Joe’s. Their bread/olive oil starter is fantastic, but that was about the only thing I enjoyed there. I think they shouldn’t try to be so crazy with their menu. It’s definitely some place I’d be happy not to eat at again, and I’m glad we had a gift certificate to use for it so most of it was free for me and Tara.

This morning, we all got up to get our exercise on. Boo ya! Sundays are my “long run” day, which to some runners might sound like a joke but hey, I’ve only been running injury-free since February. So on my 10k training schedule, today’s long run was 4 miles. Since the four of us were all going, we decided to hit up the high school track in Randolph which was just recently redone and nearby their house. This way, I can run and they can walk/jog along with me.

sunday run 8:18  Runkeeper looks like a small child got a hold of it with a red crayon!

I’m not gonna lie, it really sucked running that long in a circle.

court solo

I usually run in the street and can twist and turn any way I please, but what I really enjoyed was having my Three Amigos with me. Each time I came around to lap them again, someone would “tag in” and jog with me for a bit, or even run next to me for an entire lap.

court dan

It was great motivation and helped me not focus on the ridiculousness that was the circle running.

court tara dan

I really do have some of the greatest people in my life. They cheer me on, or kick my ass when I need it. We have the best of times together and I’m glad we can follow this weight loss/fitness journey together.

court julie

One response to “I get by with a little help from my friends

  1. Jules says:

    Thank you for being such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

